DIY: Buttoned Fleur-De-Lis

Buttoned Fleur-De-LisI was inspired to make this DIY project after I found a picture on Pinterest from the Gather Love Tumblr account. I especially loved doing this DIY project because I used all of my grandmother’s buttons, so it added a special factor to this decor piece.

What You’ll Need:

  • One picture frame (I bought mine from JoAnn’s but you can find one anywhere, such as Michael’s)
  • A small piece of fabric (measure according to your picture frame. I chose a neutral color so that the buttons would stand out.)
  • Buttons (LOTS of buttons — I used my grandmother’s buttons that my mother has kept in her sewing drawer for years!)
  • A hot glue gun (and extra hot glue sticks)
  • Spray adhesive glue
  • A pencil
  • Scissors
  • Stencil of a fleur-de-lis (I Googled “fleur-de-lis” and found one I liked, printed it off, and cut out the fleur-de-lis).

*I bought all of these things (except the buttons) at Jo-Ann’s Fabric and Craft Store. You can find any of these items at any craft store, such as Michael’s.

Step 1: Carefully remove any cardboard or glass from the picture frame.

Step 2: Measure your fabric so that it fits the size of the picture frame glass.

Step 3: Use your spray adhesive glue to spray the piece of glass from your picture frame. Make sure to get the corners, but don’t spray too much so that it’s soaking wet. Then, carefully place your fabric onto the wet piece of glass. Smooth out any wrinkles and make sure it sits well on the glass and covers every corner. Cut the excess fabric around the piece of glass once the glue has dried (wait several minutes).

Step 4: Place your fleur-de-lis stencil (I printed mine off of Google and cut out the fleur-de-lis) onto your piece of fabric. Trace your fleur-de-lis with a pencil.

Step 5: Once you have all of the buttons you want to use (and you’ll need a lot) figure out where you want to place them inside your fleur-de-lis. I used a neutral color scheme and a large variety of texture and style for my buttons. I worked on small sections of the fleur-de-lis to see which size buttons fit where. I recommend that you DO NOT lay out all of your buttons and then glue…it makes it easier to do one section of the fleur-de-lis at a time.

Step 6: After you have placed your buttons where you want them (and where they fit), use your hot glue gun to glue the buttons to the fabric. Repeat this step until you’ve filled up your entire fleur-de-lis! I added extra buttons on top of other buttons so that every bit of space was filled up.

I hope you enjoy this piece of art as much as I do!

xoxo, Megan

Leave a Reply

